Mount Vernon Christian School logo

Board of Directors

The MVC Board of Directors is comprised of up to 12 members elected by the MVC Association. The MVC Board is a good steward of God’s gifts toward the school. The MVC Board hires and supervises a Superintendent, who oversees the principals, who in turn oversee the faculty. Staff at MVC exemplify a deep love for Christ both professionally and personally.

The school board meets monthly, and each member serves, along with other parents, administrators, and teachers on a variety of different strategic committees within the school.

MVC Board mobilizes broad community financial support for its programs, providing tuition assistance where needed, thus ensuring that as many families as possible are able to fulfill their desire to provide a Christ-centered education to their children.

Current Board members (2017/2018)

Steve Boon (’18)–Superintendent Review, Buildings & Grounds Task Force, Athletics

Eliot Blom (’20)President–Association Liaison, Buildings & Grounds Task Force,  Superintendent Review

Joel Hoksbergen (’19)–Vice President–Education chairperson, Policy Review

Wendy Lucas (’18)–Finance, Mission Advancement

Randy Oostra (’18)Treasurer–Finance, Superintendent Review

Tim Price (’19)Vicar–Strategic Planning, Auction Task Force

Jon VanderKooy (’20)Secretary–Finance

Shanna Visser (’20)–Education, Mission Advancement

Brit Wyatt (’20)–Education, Policy Review